Total Pageviews

Friday, January 27, 2012

And the Winners Are..

Posted by Staff

The ALA announced the winners for this year's awards for children's literature.  You may be familiar with the Caldecott and Newberry, but there are a number of others; all celebrate the diverse world of children's books.  There are too many awards and books to list here; please follow the links to learn more. Whether you have kids at home, or are just young at heart, all of these books deserve a read.  Request one today.

The Caldecott Medal was named in honor of 19th century illustrator Randolph Caldecott and is awarded annually to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book (former winners). The 2012 winner is A Ball for Daisy, written and illustrated by Chris RaschkaHonor Winners are Blackout, written and illustrated by John Rocco, and Grandpa Green, written and illustrated by Lane Smith.
The Geisel Medal is given annually to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished American book for beginning readers published in English in the U.S. during the preceding year (former winners). The 2012 winner isTales for Very Picky Eaters, written and illustrated by Josh Schneider.  Honor winners are I Broke My Trunk, written and illustrated by Mo Willems, I Want My Hat Back, written and illustrated by Jon Klassen and See Me Run, written and illustrated by Paul Meisel. 

The Newbery Medal is awarded annually to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children (former winners).  The 2012 winner is Dead End in Norvelt by Jack Gantos.  Honor winners are Inside Out & Back Again by Thanhha Lai and Breaking Stalin's Nose by Eugene Yelchin.  The Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery.

The Sibert Medal is awarded annually to the most distinguished informational book published in the U.S. in English during the preceding year (former winners).  The 2012 winner is Balloons over Broadway:  The True Story of the Puppeteer of Macy’s Parade by Melissa Sweet.  Honor winners are Drawing from Memory, written and illustrated by Allen Say, Black & White:  The Confrontation between Reverend Fred L. Shuttlesworth and Eugene ‘Bull’ Connor, written by Larry Dane Brimne, The Elephant Scientist, written by Caitlin O’Connell and Donna M. Jackson, photographs byCaitlin O’Connell and Timothy Rodwelland and Witches!:  The Absolutely True Tale of Disaster in Salem written and illustrated by Rosalyn Schanzerand.

Other awards include the Batchelder Award, the Belpré Medal, the Carnegie Medal, the Odyssey Award and the Wilder Award.

No comments:

Post a Comment